Tasty Tuesday- Chicken Ranch Fajitas

I’ve been a beast in the kitchen lately, and it’s been great! I love being able to have time to cook and bake in the kitchen. Before the wedding (post still to come) we were eating like college students again, and it was starting to show! Here is a new recipe that I tried and it was loved by myself and my hubby.

There is always a decision to be made at our household that sometimes leaves the other one not so happy (until they taste the dish)…Chicken, or beef? Well I like chicken..a lot, Andrew likes beef..a lot; but on this particular night, I won!

Chicken Ranch Fajita Wraps

ingredients

2 skinless chicken breasts (more if cooking for a bigger crowd) 

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Nonstick cooking spray

1 small red, yellow, or green sweet pepper, seeded and cut into thin strips (we used fresh from the garden peppers)

2 tablespoons ranch salad dressing

2 tortillas (any kind you want)-warmed

1/2 cup Easy Fresh Salsa*

1/3 cup mexican style cheese

directions

1.Cut breasts into strips or whatever size you’d like them to be for your fajitas. Sprinkle with chili powder and garlic powder. Coat a medium nonstick skillet with nonstick spray; heat over medium-high heat. Cook chicken and sweet pepper strips in hot skillet over medium heat for 4 to 6 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and pepper strips are tender. Remove pan from heat and then coat with the salad dressing. I added a little more salad dressing.

2.Divide the chicken and pepper mixture between warmed tortillas. Top with Easy Fresh Salsa and cheese. Roll up; cut in half if you’d like.

Chicken and peppers in skillet coated with chili powder and garlic!

Fresh Salsa

ingredients
2 seeded and chopped tomatoes
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
1/4 cup chopped yellow or green sweet pepper
2 – 3 teaspoons snipped fresh cilantro
1/2  teaspoon minced garlic
1/8 teaspoon salt
Dash black pepperFew drops bottled hot pepper sauce

directions (Fresh Salsa)

In a medium bowl combine tomatoes, red onion (we used fresh sweet onions from the garden), pepper, cilantro, garlic, salt, black pepper, and, if desired, a few drops bottled hot pepper sauce. Serve immediately or cover and chill for up to 3 days. Stir before serving. Makes 1 2/3 cups.

Fresh Salsa (delicious!)

We cooked up some Rice a Roni with the fajitas (looked like burritos) and it was so delicious. I’d like to say that I was the one who won the chicken and beef battle but in the end, Andrew was very pleased and so was I, so I guess you could say we both won!

Andrew did mention he might of liked it with sour cream or some more ranch to dip it in (which I offered to get but he said no) He also used the salsa with tortilla chips and he really enjoyed that. Overall this was a fantastic recipe and will be used again!

YUMO!!!

I’ve learned through my cooking that you won’t always follow the recipe exact, and I hardly ever follow a recipe exactly how it says. I like to add my own things and experiment, and I have to say, I’ve gotten pretty good at it. Stay tuned next Tuesday for “Tasty Tuesday” and see what else I come up with! Hope you all decide to try it out and enjoy! Bon appetit!!

The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.” 
Julia Child

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday- Chicken Ranch Fajitas

  1. These look and sound delicious! Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog. I really appreciate it; it made my day! Best of luck with your blog as well! Looks great!

Leave a Reply

