A Journey…A Lesson

This is my year in a nutshell…

On May 14, 2011 I was going to be starting a whole new chapter in my life. I  graduated from Kansas State University and would be moving to Marienthal, Kansas. At first I was very nervous about the move, would I make friends? Would I fit in? Would I find a job…but little did I know what the big guy had in store for me…a whirlwind of a year!

Our summer began with a dirty house, a slew of boxes, confused animals, and for me, unfamiliar faces. I was eager, and scared. After many days of painting, cleaning and unpacking; our unfamiliar house, became a cozy home. I began my new job in Scott City, and Andrew started his full-time job at 21st Century-John Deere.  In July I was named head girls basketball coach at Wichita County High school, I couldn’t have been more excited! I love the game of basketball and I love coaching it was perfect for me, but something was missing. I wasn’t happy at my job, and I was missing my friends and family so much back in Manhattan. There were some weekends spent with my girls at Lake Trenton, and lots of good times in Manhattan, which were my favorite. Although it was always hard to leave! I wasn’t finding my groove in Leoti, and I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to. I started getting into new things in the community and became friends with Simone. She helped me get introduced to other people and we hit it off right away. She was new to the community as well, and we were counting on each other (secretly I think) to make it in Leoti. I was also introduced to Audra through Devon, and although Audra and I had hung out before she also took me under her wing and we became good friends. Without these girls, my first year in Leoti would have been awful. I also had a wonderful family to help me through everything and to give me advice. The Baker family (now my family) supported Andrew and I in every decision that we made.  Basketball season was rough and it had a lot of ups and downs…but I seemed to survive, and it was a great way for me to grow and learn.

On October 17, 2011 my world was turned upside down…literally. I got in a really bad car accident and rolled my jeep and totaled it. Luckily I walked away with only a few bumps and stratches..oh and a totaled vehicle. Even thought I wasn’t injured terribly it opened my eyes and made me realize how lucky I was. I was taking too much for granted in my life. Two days before this I also stopped working at my job, things were not looking good for me. I was sad and felt lonely, once again. After some time of feeling sorry for myself, and being unmotivated I found a new car which I love, and got a new job…and WE GOT ENGAGED! I couldn’t have been happier…I was on cloud 9. On Christmas morning the love of my life asked me to be his wife!

“But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.” Psalm 59:16

After a great Christmas and a killer New Years Eve party, the wedding planning had to begin, and with that came money and stress. Basketball season came to an end, and more of my time was taken up by wedding planning! I was blessed to complete my adventure to become Catholic and it was the best decision I ever made! I met an amazing woman through the process and she will forever be a friend of mine and a mentor!  On May 21 I started a job that I love so much! Working at the Coop is one of the best jobs ever. I get to talk with farmers all day and hear stories about all sorts of things, and its great! Harvest was an interesting time for me coming from someone who knew nothing (except what my fiancée taught me)! Over all it went really smoothly and I know the farmers were pleased with my efficiency and smile! One of the cool things about working at the elevator is the view from the top, especially of the wheat pile!

Overall the last year (excluding summer, to come in a different post) has been a roller coaster! At this point I couldn’t be happier and I love my life in Wichita County, Kansas. I’ve met some amazing people and some of my best friends through this journey. It’s hard to be away from my family, but God has led me here, and for that I am grateful!

“And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food.” Genesis 1:29

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself
any direction you choose.
With your head full of brains,
And your shoes full of feet,
You’re too smart to go down a not-so-good-street.
Out there things can happen, and frequently do,
To people as brainy and footsy as you.
And when things start to happen, don’t worry, don’t stew.
Just go right along, you’ll start happening too! -Dr. Seuss

Friends don’t worry..not all my posts will be this long! 😉

One thought on “A Journey…A Lesson

Leave a Reply

